Skip to content

Emily Kirkland: Greenpeace Campaign Internship in San Francisco

July 5, 2011

Emily Kirkland

I took a leave in the spring semester of my freshman year (a gap semester, as it were). I spent the spring living at home in San Francisco with my parents. I interned full-time on a Greenpeace campaign aimed at reducing deforestation associated with cattle ranching in the Amazon. I wrote reports, compiled spreadsheets, and learned how to climb buildings, among many, many other things! I also took Portuguese classes from a guy named Carlos, read lots of books, and finally learned how to drive. It was an exciting and wonderful semester; I learned an incredible amount and I meet some amazing people (and some very odd and amusing people as well.)

 Here’s a picture of me with my fellow interns at Greenpeace

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

