Skip to content

Jason Harris: Community Development Organization in Nicaragua

July 5, 2011

Jason Harris

I worked for a small community development organization in Chaguitillo, Nicaragua, which is about 2.5 hours outside Managua in the northern highlands. I was working on a project to improve a local historical site that the organization was trying to use as a local ecotourism project. They received a small UN Development Programme grant to improve the site and I helped coordinate volunteers and worked alongside them on site improvement. I stayed with a host family and got to meet many members of the community by volunteering to help the English teacher at the school, playing on a soccer team and generally being in the community. Throughout my 3 months, I had the opportunity to explore many parts of the country as well.

 This is me at a rosquilla factory. Rosquilla is a local snack made from baked corn meal. The factory was in the back of this woman’s house and she let me try to make some.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

