Skip to content

Sam Miller: Plumber in New York City

July 27, 2011

Sam Miller
Class of 2011.5

I spent 2009 as a plumber in New York City.  I joined the Local 1 Plumber’s Union and worked as a Class B Mechanic, repairing existing work and doing new construction.  I found this job to be a drastic change from the time that I had previously spent at Brown.  Everyday, I worked to accomplish something tangible.  I would install a new sink or tie in a new waste line to a roof drain.  This helped me to apply a more short-term perspective to my schoolwork, trying to enjoy my classes in the present instead of seeing them as a necessary step toward a final goal.  I came back to Brown extremely motivated and with a newfound appreciation for the opportunities that this university affords its students.  Taking time off was one of the better decisions I have ever made.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

